Alumni Awards Ceremony

Distinguished Alumni Awards

The Distinguished Alumni Award program was established in 1992 to honor Kennesaw State University’s most accomplished graduates on an annual basis. A distinguished alumnus/a is one who promotes the ideals and mission of Kennesaw State University and who demonstrates distinguished achievement in his or her chosen field at a local, regional or national level, adding to the prominence of 
the University.

Kennesaw State University Alumni Awards 2014 - Nancy Ballard
In 2014, the KSU Alumni Association honored three Distinguished Alumni Awards at the Homecoming Networking Reception on Friday, October 10 at Embassy Suites - Kennesaw. The recipients were Nancy Ballard, Megan Burton and Brad Kehm.

Kennesaw State University Alumni Awards 2014 - Megan Burton

Nancy Ballard is a WellStar Distinguished Faculty member in the WellStar College of Health and Human Services at Kennesaw State University and she travels throughout the country to review and appraise healthcare organizations seeking the prestigious Magnet Recognition Program® designation. 

Dr. Megan Burton graduated from the university’s Bagwell College of Education and is an associate professor in the Department of Curriculum and Teaching at Auburn University.  In addition to teaching courses for elementary teacher candidates and practicing elementary teachers, Dr. Burton concentrates on areas related to the improvement of mathematics achievement of elementary students.

Kennesaw State University Alumni Awards 2014 - Brad KehmBrad Kehm, a graduate of the Coles College of Business and Nike executive said, “This University made a huge impact on me as a student and I am committed to giving back to students because of the great experience I had here.” In addition to receiving the Distinguished Alumni Award, Mr. Kehm also was featured earlier in the week as a part of the Tetley Distinguished Leader Lecture Series, discussing “Leading the Nike Way.”

Past Distinguished Alumni Award Winners
2008 - Dr. Janice Walker, Dr. Shealynn Harris Buck, Ashlie Wilson
2009 - Gregory Duncan, Robert Henry, Tom Hughes
2010 - Becky Peters, Bil Lako, Ann Marie Fenton
2011 - Chuck Ayars, Judge Divida Gude, J.D., MSCM, Bill Murphy
2012 - Kathie Wood, Mike Quinlan, Jerry Samples 
2013 - Kerstin Valdés, Dean Yoder, Huy Huynh

Betty L. Siegel Award
The Betty L. Siegel Award, created in 1992, is named in honor of Dr. Betty L. Siegel, past president of Kennesaw State University. The annual award recognizes exceptional service to the University and is bestowed upon an outstanding member of the KSU staff or faculty. The individual who receives the award embodies the qualities of leadership, scholarship and service to KSU while displaying a strong commitment to his or her students, colleagues and the surrounding community.

Kennesaw State University Alumni Awards 2014 - David Shock

In 2014, the KSU Alumni Association presented Dr. David Shock, associate professor of Political Science, with  the Dr. Betty L. Siegel Faculty Member of the Year Award. 

Past Betty L. Siegel Award Winners
2008 - Dr. Hope Torkornoo
2009 - Dr. Dave Waples
2010 - Dr. LeeAnn Lands
2011 - Dr. Miriam Williams Boeri
2012 - Dr. Daniela Tapu
2013 - Dr. Judy Brown-Allen 

Kennesaw State University

3207 Campus Loop Road, MD 5600
Kennesaw, GA 30144
Alumni House Phone: 470-578-6333
Alumni House Fax: 470-578-9009
MAIN CAMPUS LINE: 470-578-6000